Cleveland Reviews

Details

Let us know your opinions of Cleveland, good or bad we want to know. Read everyone elses opinion below and click 'Submit Review' to tell us your own.

Submit listings

Reviews

Cleveland
27a Cleveland Rd , Brighton , East Sussex

» Venue Details
» What's On Guide

Options:   » All Reviews
» Only Positive
» Only Negative
» Submit Review
This Page: 1 to 10 of 10
Goto Page: -1

These reviews are the subjectiveú opinion of our users and do not represent the opinions of brightonlife.com. Whilst we make every effort to moderate them we can not guarantee their accuracy.


S. Redmond S. Redmond gave Cleveland a rating of 5/5
Having had several excellent meals there this year I was surprised to read the negative review below. I couldn't understand how a good chef could become a terrible one in the space of a few weeks and it turns out that for a short while a replacement was appointed while the permanent chef was running another pub for the same company. Apparently he is back at The Cleveland now and, judging by the bar meal I had last week (served within ten minutes), everything is back up to standard.

I suggest that G. Tabone makes a return visit and eats his words, as well as the excellent food.

Reviewed 28 Sep 2009

» Management Response

More Reviews Of Cleveland

Steve Devereux Steve Devereux gave Cleveland a rating of 4/5

Thursday 24th September

After reading previous reviews I visited The Cleveland on Thursday 24th September to find a varied menu, fairly priced I must add, the bar staff were friendly & the service was prompt. A well stocked bar for all tastes.
My meal was served, within a short time of my order being taken, by a member of the bar staff to my table. My choice of meal was the "Harveys Battered Cod", this was well presented & cooked perfectly.
This was an enjoyable evening in pleasant surroundings.

Reviewed 25 Sep 2009

» Management Response

G. Tabone G. Tabone gave Cleveland a rating of 0/5

Tuesday 15 Sept

warning to anyone thinking of eating at this pub,
the actual venue itself was not bad, relaxed decor and light interior boded well, however after waiting well over 60 minutes for our food to arrive our worst expectations were realised.
a starter of seabass and purple broccoli was not only incredibly bland, without seasoning or any sauce, the actual fillet of fish was well past its sell by date and was inedible. having sent it back we decided to give them a second chance with the main of chicken wrapped in bacon. this arrived overcooked, without any moisture and with, again no seasoning or sauce. the bacon howevever was soft and watery with white ooze. we were unable to eat more than a few mouthfuls and decided to skip dessert. it is clear the staff have no basic cooking skills or any awareness of present food trends, this reflected in a menu which is a throwback to the darkages of 1970,s.
staff were uninterested in any comments and were rude to the point of agressive.

Reviewed 22 Sep 2009

» Management Response

Gareth Carpenter Gareth Carpenter gave Cleveland a rating of 2/5

Mr

The pub in itself was not bad at all, the food was average but fairly priced.
THe main issue that we had with our visit was that after sending our dessesrt back due to the raspberries being mouldy we heard the chef very loudly call us effing c****s and that we should just f*** off!!!
We did just that, without paying of course.
The manager was extremely apologetic and told us he had cautioned the chef responsible. If it was my business i would have sacked him on the spot.
A very unfortunate end to what was promising to be an ok afternoon.
Will not be returning.

Reviewed 20 Sep 2009

» Management Response

Happy Eater Happy Eater gave Cleveland a rating of 5/5
Great food - really good - fresh local ingredients and presented beautifully. Friendly small pub, no garden but conservatory at back for dining (or parties!)big front terrace facing right on the park (Blakers). Bit of a gem, well-kept local secret!

Reviewed 16 Apr 2009

» Management Response

Dee Delta Dee Delta gave Cleveland a rating of 5/5

Mainly Sundays

A good, reliable, honest to goodness, local boozer. Not old fashioned - just how pubs used to be/should be (and just the only one of its type left roundabout here). Staff always friendly - right up to & including closing time (have never felt rushed to push off home). Background music never oppressive. Tend to avoid live music nights myself (not my thing) but they seem popular. Not tried the food. Definitly local pub of choice.

Reviewed 14 Feb 2009

» Management Response

Jake Jake gave Cleveland a rating of 3/5

Is The Cleveland Being Sold??

I like the Cleveland, even though the food is mediocre at best. It's a traditional boozer with no airs or graces.
Is it true it's being sold? I heard the owner is selling it as he is buying The White Horse in Ditchling.
It will be a shame if he sells it and it gets done up and looses all its appeal.

Reviewed 3 Sep 2008

» Management Response

Satisfied Customer Satisfied Customer gave Cleveland a rating of 5/5

Great Food

Had a meal in the new 'Conservatory Restaurant' - absolutely terrific. A varied and adventurous menu, mainly locally sourced and well presented. The conservatory provides a light, fresh atmosphere away from the general hubub of the main pub, although I could have chosen to eat in there if I wished. The restaurant menu changes daily, although the bar menu and snack menu seems fairly static. The tempura battered fish and chips is probably the best I've had anywhere in Brighton. Definitely to be tried.

Reviewed 22 Aug 2007

» Management Response

Lesley Lesley gave Cleveland a rating of 5/5
Love this pub, cosy, friendly staff, a lovely log fire and very friendly atmosphere - far from what the pub down the road (PPT) is doing! Cold place, cold atmosphere, Kids everywhere with crayons, and an awful landlord. The only downer for this pub is that it's a bit smoky, but as soon as the ban comes in the Cleveland will be the better pub, as it was before, and the PPT will die with it's price list!

Reviewed 19 Nov 2006

» Management Response

Lucerne Resident Lucerne Resident gave Cleveland a rating of 5/5
An excellent small, unpretentious local pub with gorgeous bar staff and a good, well experienced landlord. Unlike the Preston Park Tavern down the road this is still a smoking pub (not at the bar though)- but this will soon change with the new legislation. The chef provides an excellent menu, well prepared, mainly locally sourced and inexpensive - unlike it's nearby competitor. During the warmer months sitting outside overlooking the park is great - and kids are welcome in the garden area, although there's no 'family friendly policy' inside the pub so pushchairs and crayons are out. The log fire during the colder months is a real treat and gives this great little local a real homely feel. Keep it up guys.

Reviewed 15 Nov 2006

» Management Response

» Show me all reviews for Cleveland
» Submit Review

Looking for somewhere to stay?

The Old Ship HotelThe Old Ship Hotel

The Old Ship Hotel Brighton is the oldest hotel in Britain today dating back to 1559. Standing proudly on Brighton's seafront is one of Brighton's most impressive venues.
» more info

umiumi

Welcome to umi, a new concept in hotels. Our aim is to offer you some of the best UK hotel accommodation, with excellent service and facilities, all at a value price.
» more info

Lansdowne Place Hotel & SpaLansdowne Place Hotel & Spa

One of Brighton & Hove's grandest old hotels is now projecting the boutique ethos on a large scale. The Dudley has reemerged as Lansdowne Place Hotel and Spa and promises to be one of Brighton & Hove's finest destinations.
» more info

Hotel PeliroccoHotel Pelirocco

Hotel Pelirocco has earned a reputation as the premiere pit stop for the mods and rockers, DJ’s and rock stars, actors and comedians with everyone like us in between.
» more info

Show me all Hotels / Guest Houses

  Sponsored Links

This Site Needs You!This Site Needs You!

www.brightonlife.com is designed to keep you informed and updated about the latest news and events in and around Brighton.

If there is anything you would like us to add to this site please let us know about it. You can submit your business details, news stories, reviews, listings and comments using any of the links below.

» add your details to our brighton business directory
» let us know about any interesting brighton news
» send us details of any good, or bad, experiences you have had in brighton
» tell us about an event that's happening in brighton
» get involved in the general chat and comments in our forums