Ocean Rooms Reviews

Details

Let us know your opinions of Ocean Rooms, good or bad we want to know. Read everyone elses opinion below and click 'Submit Review' to tell us your own.

Submit listings

Reviews

Ocean Rooms
1 Morley Street , Brighton , East Sussex

» Venue Details
» What's On Guide

Options:   » All Reviews
» Only Positive
» Only Negative
» Submit Review
This Page: 1 to 10 of 32
Goto Page: -1-2-3-4

These reviews are the subjectiveú opinion of our users and do not represent the opinions of brightonlife.com. Whilst we make every effort to moderate them we can not guarantee their accuracy.


Victory Victory gave Ocean Rooms a rating of 5/5

Hard Dance 30/08/09

One of the best nights in brighton you can have!
Well, if you like hard dance ;)

Reviewed 31 Aug 2009

» Management Response

More Reviews Of Ocean Rooms

Pete Pete gave Ocean Rooms a rating of 4/5

Somewhere In The Universe There Must Be Something

Awesome club, Awesome music, Awesome people, Awesome night - Only bad point is drinks are a bit dear, but its the same everywhere in brighton these days on a friday.

Reviewed 6 Jun 2008

» Management Response

Grev Grev gave Ocean Rooms a rating of 4/5
I knock off work 3AM (ish) saturdays and sometimes trundle down to the Ocean Rooms after work (means I'm the only sober one there!!). It's usually still busy till 7 in the morning - at least the bar and 1 floor open -but not always. Aside from the upstairs bar charging a quid extra just for serving you shots etc in a mandatory glass the only real problem I have is with a couple of the bouncers. One in particular - the one with the goatee who looks like a massive pot-bellied metal fan - seems to get off on throwing his weight around every chance he gets. Other than that idiot it's a great club!

Reviewed 5 Jul 2007

» Management Response

Stuart Stuart gave Ocean Rooms a rating of 5/5

Lovebox

We went to the ocean rooms on saturday night to see Lovebox. All I can say is what a fantastic night. The queue on the door ran smoothly. We started off by having some drinks in the white room sitting and chilling out to some wicked disco and house (by the way the watermelon daiquiri's are killers). Goin downstairs to the basement we were blown away by the Armamada. Killer tunes on one of the best rigs i've heard in a long long time. Bass that could kill your gran!!. The other nice thing was that they've seem to have sorted out the air conditioning so the ocean rooms is no longer a sweat box as of old. Finishing the night off dancing on the tables in the white room. Great night, great sound, loveley crowd... looking forward to my return visit.

Reviewed 21 Jun 2007

» Management Response

8bitboy 8bitboy gave Ocean Rooms a rating of 5/5
Wow! This is one of the best nights I've been to for a long time. I've lived here in the UK for 1 year studying and have been to a few club nights so far in Brighton & London but this has been the best night so far.
The Hutchinson Brothers rocked & the Monkey Sons were fantastic & MC Cashback. I'll be going to the next one for sure. I've not been living in Brighton that long, but if there was a club like this in the US it would be crazy. Come on Dirty Weekend NYC is waiting for you.

Reviewed 6 Jun 2007

» Management Response

Tony G Tony G gave Ocean Rooms a rating of 1/5

Residents Association

We visited the Ocean Rooms on a Saturday night to support a friend who had the early slot DJing in the downstairs room. Unfortunately the evening did not start well as we, and others, were kept waiting outside until nearly midnight! The self-important chap who appeared to be in charge of the door failed to tell people in the queue what was going on and chose to allow all the pretty girls in first, regardless of the guest list. What?s more, when he overheard one of our party grumbling about being kept waiting he told him to get to the back of the queue! Some training in effective communications and customer care wouldn?t go amiss. Once inside we found the bar staff and service to be excellent, which was quite a contrast to the door policy. Perhaps it was this, coupled with other lousy reviews, which kept the place from filling up. Whilst the upstairs white-room was quite busy with lots of drunken girls stumbling about spilling drinks, the downstairs remained fairly dead with hardly a soul on the dance floor for the main DJs set. The lack of customers on a peak Saturday night in a town where other clubs are forced to turn people away speaks volumes!

Reviewed 5 Jun 2007

Management Response from Jonathon Goldsmith - 21 Jun 2007
Unfortunately due to a visit by both Brighton police and Brighton licensing we were unable to open the club on time that night. Our usual head doorman wasn?t working that night so I can only assume that the gentleman in question was our temporary replacement who does not work here on a regular basis. I'm sorry for the problems you had on the door and if you email me (jon) at the club I will put you on a VIP guest list of your choice to sat sorry.

Jo Jo gave Ocean Rooms a rating of 0/5

Our Friends Electric

Another shite night in the Ocean Rooms. Having debated with myself about whether to go to this night for a few days I decided that the appearance of high calibre DJs is too rare to miss and so off we went hopes held high. But alas, it was not to be. Unfortunately, the DJ in question (Stacey Pullen) didn't arrive til around 6am after being booked to play at Turnmills earlier that night. The whole thing was a complete production cock up. To be fair to the Ocean Rooms it wasn't their fault the star attraction arrived too late to play but the way it was handled was (promises of '...another half hour...' were in ciculation from about 3am). And I met the rudest bouncer ever in my 13 year clubbing career, and that's saying something. What a complete w*anker with an unecessarily rude disposition (you may know the one I mean). Anyway, I don't normally post reviews but I'm that peed off ... you won't find me down that club, and I mean ever ...

Reviewed 5 Feb 2007

» Management Response

Jamsandwich Jamsandwich gave Ocean Rooms a rating of 2/5
This place is dumb. They have put TILES (i.e. bathroom tiles) all over the floor and on the stairs... add to this a club full of drunken people spilling their drinks everywhere and it is an accident waiting to happen. And it happens... a lot. Two of my party sustained injuries from the afore mentioned, including myself. I bruised my tailbone and was in agony for about a fortnight. They are lucky I didn't go to the docs cos I could have sued them (maybe)... They really need to sort that floor out, seriously! I'd advise wearing shoes with good grip (although that will not necessarily guarantee your safety!)

Music is a bit dodgy in my opinion, but then again, lots of people like cheesy house music... so who am I to comment?! White Room upstairs is the best bit though if you can blag your way in. The floor isn't so dangerous up there either.

If you want a good night, the Concorde 2 is the best place to go...

Reviewed 27 Aug 2006

» Management Response

Merry Jim Merry Jim gave Ocean Rooms a rating of 5/5
The Ocean Rooms never fails to impress. Every time I go down the staff are friendly, the music is banging and the vibe is wicked. Saw Booka Shade last week and they shook the roof down. Keep it coming Ocean Rooms!!

Reviewed 3 Jun 2006

» Management Response

James James gave Ocean Rooms a rating of 0/5
After a 20 minute argument with a rude wrinkly weasle on amphetamine (a.k.a the manager), we were made to pay extortionate entrance to a private party (for which we were on the guest list) the evening continued to be a financial nightmare at ?14 for 2 medicore drinks! The hideous white pleather decore of the 'VIP' room, reminisscent of a low-class lap-dancing club, was difficult to escape with little or no ventilation making the main room unbearably hot, and any rest-bite in the toilets made virtually impossible by the compulsory interrogation by 2 beef-cake bouncers. Be careful not to set a foot wrong or let any of the over-priced alcohol take hold as the self-important, macho bouncers are looking for any excuse to exert their authority and throw somebody out via the front-door!
Its a shame that its the ocean rooms that seems to have all the good nights listed (although all seem to revert to drum and base at some point...) as if only for a better venue, with better staff who don't make it so difficult to have a good night, it would be a great place to go! This is the 3rd time I have vowed never to return, hopefully I'll be able to resist the seemly amazing music listed with memories of paying through the nose for the privilege of being abused and offended by rude staff and risking life-and-limb on the dodgy stairs.

Reviewed 7 May 2006

» Management Response

» Show me all reviews for Ocean Rooms
» Submit Review Older Reviews >>

Looking for somewhere to stay?

Amherst HotelAmherst Hotel

Amherst Hotel is only a five minute walk from the buzz of Brighton’s centre. Virtually on the sea front we are ideally located whatever your reason for visiting.
» more info

The White HouseThe White House

The White House is a typically elegant Regency residence in the heart of Kemp Town and some 100 yards from the seafront. There are sea views from the south facing rooms and a courtyard garden where guests may sit and relax.
» more info

Maison Mascara Boutique HotelMaison Mascara Boutique Hotel

Maison Mascara prides itself on friendly one to one service for all guests. Right from the free chocolates in your room to the fluffy towels and the healthy, varied breakfast your stay will be perfect and of higher quality than ordinary hotels.
» more info

Brighton HouseBrighton House

The Brighton House is a 14 bedroom, newly renovated Regency Guesthouse beside the sea and within easy walking distance to all Brighton has to offer.
» more info

Show me all Hotels / Guest Houses

  Sponsored Links

This Site Needs You!This Site Needs You!

www.brightonlife.com is designed to keep you informed and updated about the latest news and events in and around Brighton.

If there is anything you would like us to add to this site please let us know about it. You can submit your business details, news stories, reviews, listings and comments using any of the links below.

» add your details to our brighton business directory
» let us know about any interesting brighton news
» send us details of any good, or bad, experiences you have had in brighton
» tell us about an event that's happening in brighton
» get involved in the general chat and comments in our forums