OHSO Social Reviews


Let us know your opinions of OHSO Social, good or bad we want to know. Read everyone elses opinion below and click 'Submit Review' to tell us your own.

Submit listings


OHSO Social
250a Kings Rd Arches , Brighton , East Sussex

» Venue Details
» What's On Guide

Options:   » All Reviews
» Only Positive
» Only Negative
» Submit Review
This Page: 1 to 10 of 10
Goto Page: -1

These reviews are the subjectiveú opinion of our users and do not represent the opinions of brightonlife.com. Whilst we make every effort to moderate them we can not guarantee their accuracy.

Olaf Olaf gave OHSO Social a rating of 1/5


Someone cares at OHSO or at least did. The menu looked great, Organic this, free range that, local produce etc etc. BUT that is where the caring stops. We went there for Sunday brunch/lunch with our 2yr old and 6 month old. The patio area was filthy. It took a while for us to be noticed. Once noticed though, the staff were pleasent and helpful, service OK. The whole place felt dirty. The male toilet was OK, no way of drying your hands. As for the baby change, it was disgusting. The food looked promsing but arrived with old salad, all brown around the edges. Upon request it was replaced........with more brown lettuce. The rustic chips were.....well rustic and gritty. All in all its a shame because the food would probably be good, they just need to clean the place. We wouldn't go back.

Reviewed 7 Sep 2009

» Management Response

More Reviews Of OHSO Social

Amy Mcc Amy Mcc gave OHSO Social a rating of 0/5

Ohso Bad

OHSO Social has an excellent location, unfortunately that is where the compliments end. As we were in a large group (19), we had chosen the buffet option for lunch (should have been ?12, but ended up being ?16). We had originally booked for 25, but only ended up having 19, we had to pay the difference for the missing 6 people as we were told they had sufficiently catered for the 25. Upon paying extra, we were disappointed to find the food barely feed the 19. Lunch also consisted of little more than cheese and crackers with a few pieces of bread (not enough for the group), 2 salads and a small plate full of salami. Thinking this was the entree, we were excited about the remainder of the meal. Unfortunately we found out that this was considered the main course, with an additional "casserole" served in coffee cups. The "casserole" consisted of a tomato type sauce and a few chunks of cheap sausage, they also only brought out 16 casseroles, although we paid for 25! The only consolation to the terrible meal was the bottle of "free" champagne they offered - 1 bottle for 19 people, and 4 wine glasses. A great day was overshadowed by the terrible (expensive) meal and service. I suggest you stick to just drinking here, and eat somewhere else!

Reviewed 15 Jun 2008

» Management Response

Simon Simon gave OHSO Social a rating of 5/5

Ohso Social

Always a treat to while away an afternoon on the terrace of OHSO, even more of a joy when the sun shines, which is hit and miss at the moment. My girlfriend and I were not so forunate to win over the weather a few weekends ago but we wandered down to OHSO nevertheless as we are hooked on their steak sandwiches. It was pretty wild outside but the staff welcomed us in out of the monsoon and were not only really friendly but very efficient. We satisfied our steak appetite washed down with a jug of Pimms and watched the sky clearing. The sun popped out briefly - enough time to eat our choc pudding on terrace. Such a nice environment and the location is just breathtaking.

Reviewed 27 Jul 2007

» Management Response

Helen Kane Helen Kane gave OHSO Social a rating of 0/5

OHSO Social Bar And Restaurant

Blissful location ruined by sloppy service and terrible food. A real shame because the seafront could really do with a no frills restaurant and a nice place to chill. This has the potential to be fantastic but guess what - they can't be bothered. I can honestly say I wish we'd done a runner.

Reviewed 8 Jul 2007

» Management Response

Drew Drew gave OHSO Social a rating of 1/5

OHSO Brighton

Nice venue, seemed very appealing at the time - it was a nice sunny day. Shame the mussels I ordered were practically non existant, and the ones that were had crabs inside. Surely 2 non alcoholic drinks, mussels and bread shouldn't be anywhere near ?12.90?! It's a shame because the venue is nice, the staff are polite and efficient, but the food was really bad value for money. This could've potentially ruined the rest of my Sunday if it wasn't for the fact the company I had was the most beautiful woman alive.

Reviewed 11 Jun 2007

» Management Response

Jessica Jessica gave OHSO Social a rating of 5/5

Ohso Social

Fabulous place - amazing cocktails, lovely staff, wonderful food - running out of complimentary adjectives! Don't leave Brighton before popping into OHSO. Best place in Britain to watch the sun set.

Reviewed 2 Mar 2007

» Management Response

Di Di gave OHSO Social a rating of 5/5

Ohso Social

OHSO Social is undoubtedly the best bar/restaurant my husband, kids and dog(!) have ever been to in Brighton. We venture down from London to Brighton once a month if diaries allow and always pop down to gorgeous OHSO . The food is scrummy, mussels and hotpots when it's chilly and tapas in the Summer and it's the one place the kids have no quarms about eating new potatoes in their children's meals as they are not a chip eaterie! The staff are wonderful - Ben was lovely, fetching water for my hyperventilating canine - and the drinks list is an exciting read. We enjoyed our meal outside on the heated terrace and watched the pier coming alive with lights as dusk set in and then had our cappucinos inside all cosy on the chesterfields. I would reccommend it to anyone who appreciates all the above (who doesn't) and am thinking about having my 40th birthday down there in April. Thank you OHSO for brightening up Brighton that little bit more!!

Reviewed 1 Feb 2007

» Management Response

Julie Julie gave OHSO Social a rating of 5/5
Great location, great place, atmosphere fun but no tossers like most of the seafront.
Worth getting down to in the Winter when I hear they're going to be doing alot of live music. xx

Reviewed 1 Sep 2006

» Management Response

Jamie Jamie gave OHSO Social a rating of 5/5
A place worth going to on the seafront. The service is easily the best I've had in Brighton for a long time and its on the FRONT. No plastic glasses, staff who look happy and a beautiful heated and lit terrace. Not sure how, but they're also managing to keep the chavs out and keeping it fun. Keep up the good work, don't let it slide now. Cheers.

Reviewed 22 Jul 2006

» Management Response

Red Red gave OHSO Social a rating of 5/5
Every 2 weeks is theme party night....Saloon Town, Hot Tub Honeys, Pride Party, Brighton Vice...thank goodness for those naughty people at Freemasons for taking this fab location and actually putting it on the map!
By day, yummy BIG meals, tapas, salads, all the goodies you'd expect to find on a summer menu...but by night!!! Free drinks and happy staff makes for a great bar atmosphere with a killah view xxx

Reviewed 23 Jun 2006

» Management Response

» Show me all reviews for OHSO Social
» Submit Review

Looking for somewhere to stay?

Brighton PavilionsBrighton Pavilions

Brighton Pavilions opened in May 2000 as one of the first exciting new boutique hotels in Brighton. Brighton Pavilions has 10 chic rooms at B&B rates.
» more info

New Madeira HotelNew Madeira Hotel

One of the best hotels in Brighton for exploring this wonderful city, The New Madeira Hotel, combines comfort and great service with a central seafront location ideal for shopping, sightseeing or just lazing on the beach.
» more info

Hilton MetropoleHilton Metropole

From Hilton Rooms to Suites, all Hilton Brighton Metropole hotel rooms have high-speed internet access. Choose a Deluxe Room or a Family Room for more space. .
» more info

Preston Park HotelPreston Park Hotel

The Preston Park Hotel Brighton is located just 5 minutes walk from Brighton Preston Park Station. The hotel is 20 minutes from historic Lewes with Lewes Castle, the famous Oriental Gardens and Anne of Cleves House.
» more info

Show me all Hotels / Guest Houses

  Sponsored Links

This Site Needs You!This Site Needs You!

www.brightonlife.com is designed to keep you informed and updated about the latest news and events in and around Brighton.

If there is anything you would like us to add to this site please let us know about it. You can submit your business details, news stories, reviews, listings and comments using any of the links below.

» add your details to our brighton business directory
» let us know about any interesting brighton news
» send us details of any good, or bad, experiences you have had in brighton
» tell us about an event that's happening in brighton
» get involved in the general chat and comments in our forums